Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
GTween an sprite using different easings — Gideros Forum

GTween an sprite using different easings

FavflyFavfly Member
edited July 2017 in General questions
I’ve created a MovieClip sprite that repeats an animation over and over. I want to move that sprite from one place on screen to another. I’ve achieved that with the following gtween.
GTween.new(animatingMovClip, 2, {x = xPos, y = yPos}, {ease = easing.inQuadratic})
However, I want to alter the sprite’s alpha over the course of that move, but not using easing.inQuadratic - I’d like it to use a different easing. How do I do that?

Comments

• totebototebo Member
    Accepted Answer
    You have to create a new GTween to do that.

My Gideros games: www.totebo.com
    +1 -1 (+1 / -0 )Share on Facebook
  • FavflyFavfly Member
    Lol! That was easy. :-D

I'm new to GTween. I've been using MovieClip, which is great... but now seems a lot slower the GTween.

Thanks.

+1 -1 (+2 / -0 )Share on Facebook
  • antixantix Member
    @FavFly just be aware that GTween will really suck CPU resources when you use a lot of them. It really needs a rewrite to not be an EventDispatcher to make it perform better. Use it sparingly and you will be fine :)

+1 -1 (+2 / -0 )Share on Facebook
  • FavflyFavfly Member
    "...GTween will really suck CPU resources when you use a lot of them."
    Out of interest, how many is too many? ...Or is it just a case of 'you'll know when it's too many'? :-D
  • totebototebo Member
    Do a test and see what works for you. I find MovieClip to be (much) faster, but it may depend on how you use them. Maybe the creation is the bottleneck and you need to pool GTweens or MovieClips.

My Gideros games: www.totebo.com
  • antixantix Member