Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Gideros or Corona? — Gideros Forum

Gideros or Corona?

mejonmejon Member
edited June 2015 in General questions
Hello, I'm new to app development, but I was wondering which Lua game engine is better. I have been using Corona for the past few months, but I was wondering if there is anything that makes Gideros better? I am also wondering if someone could transition all their code from CoronaSDK, to Gideros with ease.

Comments

• GiderosFanGiderosFan Member
    edited June 2015
    I know nothing about Corona but i love for example that gideros you get with and font generator and texture packer and the easy connection for mobile testing on your device. I have read yet that corona just support online building and gideros you can build directly offline. The next feature of gideros is you can deploy on Mac, Windows, Windows Phone 8, Windows Store app, Android and Iphone and I mean i have read about if the goal on kickstarter would be reached HTML5. So what you want more? 1 Code to every platform without any change of a line of code. I think this is the biggest Plus Point for Gideros. And another point is in Gideros you have no costs it's free. And if you would extend your engine you can download and working with the Engine Code from Github. You have no limitations its OPEN-SOURCE you see behind the scenes. I see corona is closed source the same as Unity, Construct2, AGK2 and so on.
  • The community is great. In 99 of the 100 cases you will have an answer for your problem within minutes!

Regards,

Marc
  • HolonistHolonist Member
    edited June 2015
    Corona has a little bit more inbuilt features e.g. for scene management and other stuff. It seems somewhat more mature than gideros. But then again, there's nothing Corona can do that gideros can't (especially if you include community-written libraries, like arturs Scene Manager, in your project).