Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
New to Gideros but not new to Lua — Gideros Forum

New to Gideros but not new to Lua

simwhisimwhi Member
edited January 2015 in General questions
Hi all,

I have been coming to this forum for some time but I am not a Gideros developer (at the moment!). I've been using Marmalade for the past 9 months but my latest experience has not been good.

Marmalade have a great SDK for developing 2D games using Lua but the monitisation is very poor and badly documented. In particular the ads implementation does not work as expected, and is based on a webview rather than native apis. This has now stopped our development.

I would like to know about other developers' experience with Gideros. Are there any developers that switched to Gideros from Marmalade?

I have also used Corona for some time but the type of apps we developed (educational) require the use of bit-mapped fonts. If I understand correctly, Gideros has support for this feature too.

I know that Gideros is now open source. Is it still be actively used and maintained?

Many thanks in advance,

Simon

+1 -1 (+1 / -0 )Share on Facebook

Comments

• talistalis Guru
    edited January 2015
    Hi @simwhi ,

First of all welcome. I didn't switch from Marmalade as you but when Marmalade launched "Quick" which is using LUA i tried it. It was good when i tried the tutorials. But when i try to do something unique unfortunately there was no documentation and not so much friendly community. Anyway maybe it changed now, maybe not, let's switch back to main topic Gideros.

When Gideros changed to opensource i had so much concerns about the SDK. Will it be maintained, will the community shatter etc etc..