Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Why does Gideros? - My Balance — Gideros Forum

Why does Gideros? - My Balance

HubertRonaldHubertRonald Member
edited January 2014 in General questions
It's been almost 10 months since I started using Gideros and found desirable to give an assessment of this SDK, for any new user who want to try with this tool.

First of all let me introduce myself briefly to put into context, the assessment of Gideros that I will provide.

I did not study at university, software engineering nor was a developer, but I am an industrial engineer and then I specialized in system simulation and operational research, the only language used for creating codes (structured) was matlab.

I learned OOP in Python in two months on a course in Coursera, which recommend it if you do not master this technique. https://www.coursera.org/course/interactivepython

Having said the above if you are a beginner and do not have some knowledge of OOP may think Gideros is not your thing, but I want to encourage you with this story you try.

The "language M" of Matlab, the Python and Lua are easy to read and understand, I will not go into detail of performance or which is the best among them or other programming languages, because I'm not the right person to grant such information, but I can tell you is that with these languages, programming becomes more natural.

I was looking for about 3 months an SDK to develop applications, but I just had theoretically Python as the primary language and that was a limiting factor for me, since neither C++ or Objective-C have the same style as Python.

Over time, I learned about Lua and like Python, its mechanics was not as complex as C or C++, I also learned that Lua is used successfully for the video games industry. (PlayStation, Warcraft)